Information on C-mine expedition

Hanna Simons

C-mine expedition provides a unique variety of experiences that will stimulate all your senses.

This adventurous trip immerses you in fascinating stories about the mine in all its aspects.

 

C-mine expedition starts in the C-mine site’s Energy Building. First you descend to 6 metres where you discover several surprising installations. Famous Belgian artists such as Stijn Meuris and Pascale Platel have created unique stories about the mine in combination with creative image projections.

You can get to work yourself in the interactive sound booth. Produce your own mine sound by operating levers, buttons and wheels. Or take in the atmosphere while wandering through the maze on your way to the surface.

You can also pay a virtual visit to the mine. Put on a safety helmet and ... get ready to be flashed back to the colliery’s heydays in the 1950s.

The highlight of the expedition is climbing the huge authentic headframe on the square. It is over 60 metres high! You will probably need to take a breather when you arrive at the top, but it's worth the effort: you will have a wonderful view of the green Limburg environment. If you're less of a ‘daredevil’, there is a stop at a height of 15 metres. And if you're not keen on heights, you can keep both feet on the ground. Just enjoy the wide space of the wonderfully renovated square.

Duration

At you own pace, 1 to 1.5 hours on average.

Prices

 

Opening hours


 In case of rain, we advise you to wear appropriate clothes and shoes because the mine galleries can get damp!

CME

Informations C-mine expédition

Hanna Simons

L'Expédition C-mine est un parcours découverte hors du commun, qui fera appel à tous vos sens.

Ce tracé aventureux vous plonge dans les récits captivants de l'activité minière sous toutes ses facettes.

 

L'Expédition C-mine s'amorce dans le Bâtiment de l'énergie du site C-mine. Vous commencez par descendre 6 m sous terre pour examiner des installations techniques saisissantes. Des artistes connus comme Stijn Meuris et Pascale Platel y conjuguent d'inventives projections d'images et des récits poignants tirés du monde du charbon.

Arrivé dans la cellule sonore interactive, à vous de jouer ! Des manettes, poignées, boutons et roulettes sont à votre disposition pour reproduire les bruits de la mine. Essayez de ressentir l'atmosphère tandis que vous vous perdez dans le dédale vous ramenant au grand jour.

Il est possible de mener une visite virtuelle de la mine. Coiffez un casque et vous voilà transporté jusqu'aux années 50, la période de prospérité de l'activité houillère.

Le point d'orgue de l'expédition consiste à gravir l'authentique châssis à molette sur la place de la mine. Attention, il culmine à plus de 60 m d'altitude ! Là-haut, sans doute aurez-vous les jambes flageolantes, mais la récompense n'en sera que plus belle : une vue magnifique sur le Limbourg verdoyant. Si l'envie vous manque d'y grimper, sachez qu'une halte est possible à 15 m de hauteur. Et si vous préférez ne pas quitter le plancher des vaches, restez les deux pieds sur terre et profitez d'un moment de repos sur la très belle place rénovée.

Durée

En moyenne, entre 1h et 1h30, chacun à son rythme.

Prix

 

Heures d'ouverture

 

Par temps de pluie, nous recommandons de se munir de chaussures et de vêtements adaptés, car les couloirs sont humides!

panoramakijker